Hairspray (Neil Simon Theatre)

Run date: July 18, 2006 – January 18, 2007
Run date: April 1, 2008 – May 4, 2008
Theater: Neil Simon Theatre (New York, NY)

Cast: Shannon Durig (Tracy Turnblad), Blake Hammond (Edna Turnblad), Stephen DeRosa (Wilbur Turnblad), Aaron Tveit (Link Larkin), Tevin Campbell (Seawee J. Stubbs), Haylie Duff (Amber Von Tussle), Diana DeGarmo (Penny Pingleton), Darlene Love (Motormouth Maybelle), Jonathan Dokuchitz (Corny Collins), Isabel Keating (Velma Von Tussle)

Libretti by: Mark O’Donnell, Thomas Meehan
Lyrics by: Scott Wittman
Music by: Marc Shaiman

Directed by: Jack O’Brien
Choreographed by: Jerry Mitchell

Baltimore’s Tracy Turnblad, a big girl with big hair and an even bigger heart, has only one passion — to dance. She wins a spot on the local TV dance program, “The Corny Collins Show” and, overnight, is transformed from outsider to irrepressible teen celebrity. But can a trendsetter in dance and fashion vanquish the program’s reigning princess, win the heart of heartthrob Link Larkin, and integrate a television show?


01. Good Morning Baltimore
02. The Nicest Kids In Town
03. Mama, I’m A Big Girl Now
04. I Can Hear The Bells
05. (The Legend Of) Miss Baltimore Crabs
06. The Madison
07. The Nicest Kids In Town (Reprise)
08. It Takes Two
09. Velma’s Revenge
10. Welcome To The 60’s
11. Run And Tell That!
12. Big, Blonde, And Beautiful


01. The Big Dollhouse
02. Good Morning Baltimore (Reprise)
03. (You’re) Timeless To Me
04. (You’re) Timeless To Me (Reprise)
05. Without Love
06. I Know Where I’ve Been
07. (It’s) Hairspray
08. Cooties
09. You Can’t Stop The Beat

Lyrics are only available for songs featuring Aaron.


Not available.


• Aaron’s Broadway debut was in Hairspray! He said the “electricity in the audience was amazing,” and it very well should have been: 75 of his friends and family members took a bus to Manhattan to catch the show.

• Then-girlfriend, Jacqui Polk, briefly joined the production in April 2008.

• Other actors who have portrayed Link Larkin include “Glee’s” Matthew Morrison, Book of Mormon‘s Andrew Rannells, and Nick Jonas of The Jonas Brothers. Zac Efron played the role in the 2007 musical film.